top of page
Search
  • juilliarddance2020

Golden Bonds by Lúa Mayenco

It is inexplicable how much one can be transformed despite their own efforts to stay true to the only version of themselves they know.


This blog could be considered a reflection of my time at Juilliard; however, I must say that such a thing would require the length of at least a novel, three short stories and a couple of sonnets. Therefore, I would like to be a bit more specific and instead bring light to the indestructible net of friendships that has been slowly knitted together over the past four years.


Some may say I ran away from my home country, Spain, with all my hopes under one arm and my dreams under the other; barely looking back to see if I had left something or someone hanging. For me, carrying only these things meant I had the lightest luggage one could have asked for. No ties, nothing holding me back. A complete stranger stepping into a new world, soon to be discovered bit by bit while looking for all the small details that transform one’s perception. Yes, loneliness can be (and it was), the most frightening reality to encounter, but it is also proved one of the few things that had infinite possibilities to offer. The next four years of my life were about to be shared with 23 other young artists whom I had never encountered before. 23 artists to admire, to study inside and out, and to continuously learn from.


Looking back, the patterns drawn across each other’s souls formed the most beautiful collage I’ve ever bore witness to. I trace the paths we left behind when looking for the support, advice and love we needed. I can recall distinctly the countless routes we followed hoping to find the right friends, and the many routes we couldn’t take because their trajectory was yet to be defined. Now they’ve all crossed in the most unexpected ways, creating a code indecipherable to all but ourselves. I feel extremely lucky I got to see these incredible individuals growing and blossoming in the most magical ways. However, the most beautiful realization of it all is that just as I had the privilege to be their witness, they also were mine. I belong to this unique garden of individuals, and I standby proudly among all its colors and fragrances. Different events paired us randomly and gave origin to the most priceless of memories. Time took advantage of the fact that we all came here alone and in turn offered us the opportunity to start a new family. We had only dance and each other - each other and dance. These two elements have proven themselves to be doubtlessly interchangeable. We learnt to listen beyond words and see deep into our eyes. I wonder if I will ever find again a group of people who with a simple touch can read my daily score of thoughts and genuinely share in the excitement of my successes. Juilliard brought the class of 2020 together, and even if we all become people far different from who we are today, these golden bonds have already left an indelible print.

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2020 Recipe for Perfect Vision by Kalyn Berg

A favorite recipe for a time when you need to fill your heart and nourish your vision for the future. Served best warm with those you love. Ingredients: 1 cup of vulnerability 1/2 cup of bravery 1lb o

Onward by Taylor Massa

I always look back Whenever I leave a place Or a person Or a people I look back To see if I’ve left anything behind I never have And I know I never have But it’s just in case I’ve been sitting For a w

bottom of page